Living in the capital of the Alps

Innsbruck is an urban and alpine paradise. Mountain and valley, nature and city. Not too big, but big enough to offer everything.

Nearly 150,000 people from 148 nations live in Innsbruck. With 1.5 million tourists and more than 300,000 students, the city is bigger and livelier than the population suggests. As Innsbruck is also located in the center of the Alps, it is also called the capital of the Alps.

But Innsbruck still has much more to offer, as for example...

1. The mountains

That is the most obvious characteristic of the city. You find the Nordkette in the north and the Patscherkofel in the south. Both mountains have great skiing regions and can be easily reached by public transport. That is also the reason why Innsbruck is one of the only cities, where you see people running through the city with skiing gear.

But not only in winter, also in summer there are countless opportunities in and around Innsbruck to move in the mountains. Whether hiking, climbing, mountain biking or paragliding. There is something for everybody.

2. The turnstile to the south

Tyrol is the door to the south. That is the reason why the region is a great basecamp for trips to Italy. Within 3 hours you are at the Garda lake and in 4 hours already on the sea and in Venice. Or maybe some other wonderful Italian city?

3. Dolce Vita

Innsbruck is only 30 minutes away from the Italian and German borders. So life in Innsbruck is a mix of both worlds. In addition to classic Tyrolean cuisine, there is also fresh wine, cheese and coffee from Italy and other delicacies from Germany.

4. Dynamics and lifestyle

Not only the students, but also the many international companies and the growing number of great startups are providing an incredible dynamic in Innsbruck. At the same time, the mixture of big city and untouched nature offers a lifestyle that is second to none.

en_GBEnglish
de_DEGerman en_GBEnglish

Leben in der Hauptstadt der Alpen

Innsbruck ist ein urbanes und alpines Paradies. Berg und Tal, Natur und Stadt. Nicht zu groß, aber groß genug, um alles zu bieten.

In Innsbruck leben knapp 150.000 Menschen aus 148 Nationen. Mit 1,5 Millionen Touristen und mehr als 300.000 Studenten ist die Stadt größer und lebendiger, als es die Einwohnerzahl vermuten lässt. Da Innsbruck zusätzlich im Zentrum der Alpen liegt, wird es auch als die Hauptstadt der Alpen bezeichnet.

Doch Innsbruck hat noch deutlich mehr zu bieten, wie...

1. Die Berge

Das ist das offensichtlichste Merkmal der Stadt. Die Nordkette im Norden und der Patscherkofel im Süden ragen über die Stadt hinaus. An beiden Bergen sind zwei tolle Skigebiete, die direkt aus der Stadt erreicht werden können. Deshalb sieht man im Winter meist auch Leuten mit Skiern und Snowboards durch die Stadt laufen.

Doch nicht nur im Winter, sondern auch im Sommer gibt es unzählige Möglichkeiten in und um Innsbruck sich in den Bergen zu bewegen. Egal, ob Wandern, Klettern, Mountainbiken oder Gleitschirmfliegen. Es ist für jeden etwas dabei.

2. Das Drehkreuz zum Süden

Tirol war immer schon heiß umkämpft, stellt es doch den natürlichsten Übergang in den Süden dar. Heute ist es ruhiger geworden, jedoch ist die Lage immer noch ideal. Wie wäre es zum Beispiel mit einem Wochenendausflug nach Italien? Egal ob an den Gardasee (3 Stunde), ans Meer nach Venedig (4 Stunden) oder in eine der anderen wunderschönen italienischen Städte.

3. Dolce Vita

Innsbruck ist jeweils nur 30 Minuten von der italienischen und deutschen Grenze entfernt. So ist auch das Leben in Innsbruck ein Mix aus beiden Welten. Neben klassischer Tiroler Küche gibt es auch frischen Wein, Käse und Kaffee aus Italien und andere Köstlichkeiten aus Bayern.

4. Dynamik und Lifestyle

Nicht nur die Studenten, sondern auch die vielen international agierenden Unternehmen und die steigende Anzahl an tollen Startups sorgen in Innsbruck für eine unglaubliche Dynamik. Gleichzeitig bietet die Mischung aus Großstadt und unberührter Natur ein Lebensgefühl, das seinesgleichen sucht.

de_DEGerman
en_GBEnglish de_DEGerman